Monday, October 12, 2015

Songwriter Hall of Fame Inducts Four

                                          NSAI PRESENTS ANNUAL AWARDS

NASHVILLE, TENN. (October 11 , 2015) - Rosanne Cash, Mark James, Even
Stevens and Craig Wiseman were officially inducted into the Nashville Songwriters
Hall Fame last night. The four took their bows in front of a sold-out industry crowd of
more than one thousand at NaSHOF's 45th Anniversary Hall of Fame Gala held at the
Music City Center. The event celebrated the musical contributions of their newest
inductees through star-studded performances of some of their biggest hits.

"This year's Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame inductees are once again among the
very best songwriters linked to the Nashville music community: Mark James and Craig
Wiseman in the songwriter category;-Even Stevens in the veteran songwriter category
and Rosanne Cash in the Songwriter/Artist category," said Pat Alger. Board Chair of the
Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Foundation and himself a Hall of Fame member.
"Each year we honor a few undeniably exceptional songwriters and we are always
amazed at the depth of talent that continues to blossom in this town." he continued,
"This year's class takes its rightful place among the all-time greats that make up The
Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame."

Each inductee was honored with a special segment that featured performances of his or
her songs by some of music's most talented artists, as well as the official induction into
the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame by someone who has played a vital role in their

Even Stevens was inducted by Hall of Fame songwriter Hugh Prestwood. Loving
Mary performed "Drivin' My Life Away' and American ldol alum Paul McDonald treated
the audience to 'When You're ln Love With A Beautiful Woman,"

Mark James was inducted by BMI VP Writer Publisher Relations Jody Williams.
Hunter Hayes performed "Suspicious Minds" while B.J. Thomas delivered the classic
"Hooked On A Feeling."

Rosanne Gash was inducted by Hall of Fame songwriter Rodney Crowell,
Peformances included Hall of Fame songwriter Vince Gill with "Seven Year Ache" and
country legend Emmylou Harris with "Western Wall."

Craig Wiseman was inducted by Hall of Fame songwriter Bob DiPiero. Hall of Fame
songwriter Jeffrey Steele performed a medley of Wiseman-penned hits. While Ronnie
Dunn performed "Believe" and Tim McGraw sang ''Live Like You Were Dying.''

The evening also featured a special presentation to John Van Mol, founder and board
chair of DVL/Seigethaler. in appreciation for his efforts to create the Nashville
Songwriters Hall of Fame Gallery at the Music City Center.

ln addition to the inductions by the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame, the evening also
featured presentations from another organization, the Nashville Songwriters Association International (NSAI), which presented its annual Songwriter Achievement Awards.
The association's professional songwriter members voted "Girl Crush" (written by
Hillary Lindsey, Lori McKenna and Liz Rose / recorded by Little Big Town) as their Song
of the Year. The writers accepted their award and also peformed the song.

The Songwriter of the Year prize went to Rodney Clawson, co-writer cf hits such as
"American Kids" (Kenny Chesney), "Bartender' (Lady Antebellum), "Burnin' lt Down"
(Jason Aldean), "Dirt" (Florida Georgia Line), "Lettin' The Night Roll" (Justin Moore)
and "Sippin' On Fire" (Florida Georgia Line).

The Songwriter/Artist of the Year was presented for a record-breaking seventh time in
nine years to Taylor Swift, who scored self-penned hits of her own such as "Bad
Blood," "Blank Space," "Shake lt Off" and "Style."

Besides honoring the Song, Songwriter and Songwriter/Ar1ist, the writers of NSAI's
Professional Songwriters Division also singled out 10 songs and their writers for the
organization's 2015 awards, informally dubbed "The Songs lWish l'd Written."

(Because of a tie, 11 awards were presented). Recipients were: "A Guy Walks lnto A
Bar" (Melissa Peirce, Jonathan Singleton, Brad Tursi / recorded by Tyler Farr), "All
About That Bass" (Kevin Kadish, Meghan Trainor / recorded by Meghan Trainor),
"American Kids" (Rodney Clawson, Luke Laird, Shane McAnally / recorded by Kenny
Chesney), "Diamond Rings And Old Bar Stools" (Barry Dean, Luke Laird, Jonathan
Singleton / recorded by Tim McGraw w/ Catherine Dunn), "Dift" (Rodney Clawson,
Chris Tompkins / recorded by Florida Georgia Line), "Girl In A Country Song" (Taylor
Dye, Maddie Marlow, Aaron Scherz / recorded by Maddie & Tae), "l Don't Dance" (Lee
Brice, Dallas Davidson, Rob Hatch / recorded by Lee Brice), "Neon Light" (Andrew
Dorff, Mark lnrvin, Josh Kear i recorded by Blake Shelton). "Raise 'Em Up" (Tom
Douglas, Jaren Johnston, Jeffrey Steele, recorded by Keith Urban w/ Eric Church),
"Shake lt Off" (Max Maftin, Shellback, Taylor Swift / recorded by Taylor Swift) and "She
Don't Love You" (Eric Paslay, Jennifer Wayne / recorded by Eric Paslay).