Tuesday, May 31, 2016

Blake Shelton Has #1 Album

"Came Here To Forget" Earns Shelton His 17th Consecutive #1 Single
Nashville, TN – (May 31, 2016) – It honestly doesn’t get much better than this: country music superstar Blake Shelton’s new album If I’m Honest is the number one selling album in America this week, topping the Billboard Top Albums Sales Chart and becoming his third consecutive album to hit number one on the Billboard Country Albums Chart. Simultaneously, the album’s first single “Came Here To Forget” reached the top spot on the Billboard Country Airplay Chart and the Country Aircheck Chart, making it his 17th consecutive number one single and 22nd overall.
"At almost 40 years old and 15 years in this business, who would've ever thought I would have the biggest week of my career now,” said Shelton. “Number one album, number one song and number one movie. I am beside myself my friends. Thank you for an incredible journey..."
With 153,000 in album sales, If I'm Honest becomes the biggest selling country debut album since October of last year, and is the second biggest selling debut week of Shelton's career.
Shelton will also appear June 8 on the 2016 CMT Music Awards. The two-time nominee will debut "Doing It to Country Songs” with his friends and Country Music Hall of Fame members, The Oak Ridge Boys. On June 9 he'll perform his chart-topping "Came Here To Forget" on Ellen.
Shelton has never been more excited for fans to hear an album and co-wrote three of the songs on the album including “Friends,” which is the featured song in the #1 animated movie Angry Birds, "Savior's Shadow," a gospel/hymn tinged song he recently performed on NBC's primetime Red Nose Day special, and "Go Ahead And Break My Heart, " a song he wrote and recorded with Gwen Stefani.
“I don’t even know how to talk about this album as a piece of music as I do just kind of a timeline,” Shelton said in an exclusive interview with The Tennessean newspaper. “As country artists go, I think we’re supposed to sing about our life experiences, and I’ve done that before, but not to this extent.”  
Fans also can learn more about Shelton at the Country Music Hall of Fame® and Museum in Nashville, Tennessee, where his exhibit, Blake Shelton: Based on a True Story is now open. Shelton himself will be throwing a kick-off party, which includes a very special performance for fans on Monday, June 6.  The exhibition will examine the star’s road to success, from his childhood to his move to Nashville as a teen, and from his multi-platinum recording breakthrough to becoming a national celebrity. A range of artifacts, including stage wear, instruments, song manuscripts, photos and personal items will help tell the story of Shelton’s struggles and triumphs.
The Voice coach recently wrapped the 10th season of the NBC Emmy Award-winning series and he’ll hit the road on the fall leg of the 2016 Blake Shelton Tour Presented by Gildan in September, kicking off the run in his home state of Oklahoma. For tour dates, tickets and the latest news and information, be sure to follow @blakeshelton on Twitter and stay tuned to BlakeShelton.com.
If I’m Honest track list:
1. Straight Outta Cold Beer
2. She’s Got A Way With Words
3. Bet You Still Think About Me
4. Every Time I Hear That Song
5. Came Here To Forget
6. Every Goodbye
7. It Ain’t Easy
8. A Guy With A Girl
9. Go Ahead And Break My Heart (Featuring Gwen Stefani)
10. Friends (from The Angry Birds Movie)
11. One Night Girl
12. Doing It To Country Songs (Featuring The Oak Ridge Boys)
13. Green
14. You Can’t Make This Up
15. Savior’s Shadow