Friday, March 29, 2024

Joe Diffie Tribute Released


Image item
HIXTAPE: Vol. 3: DIFFTAPE Album Cover Art | Courtesy of Big Loud Records 

NASHVILLE, TENN. – Bringing together an ensemble of country music's biggest stars with the third installment of the HIXTAPE franchise pioneered by Big Loud Records heavy hitter HARDYHIXTAPE: Vol. 3: DIFFTAPE is out now. 
The anticipated project is a tribute to GRAMMY and CMA Award-winning country legend Joe Diffie, released in conjunction with the Diffie estate on the fourth anniversary of his passing. Across 17 reimaginings of Diffie classics, the album features never-before-heard recordings captured in 2006, and one previously unreleased original (“Life Had Plans For Me”) featuring Diffie's son, Parker. Additional members of Diffie's beloved family contributed backing vocals on the set's lively rendition of “Prop Me Up Beside The Jukebox (If I Die),” as part of the Difftones - a one-track-only supergroup comprised of the Diffie's and gang vocals from a variety of featured artists on the project.
Listen to HIXTAPE: Vol. 3: DIFFTAPE here.
“I'm honored that we get to be a small part of the legacy of Joe Diffie with DIFFTAPE,” HARDY shares. “The thing I've always admired about Joe's catalog is the quality of the songs. He had an unbelievable ear for hits, and I love that we got this cast together to celebrate them.”
“As someone who had the profound privilege of performing alongside my father, it fills my heart with immense joy to witness his enduring legacy continued with the same passion and fervor that he embodied,” Diffie's son Parker adds. “The release of HIXTAPE: Vol. 3: DIFFTAPE is an opportunity to not only celebrate the past but also to embrace the future with reverence and enthusiasm.
The song 'Life Had Plans For Me' holds a special place in my heart, as it symbolizes the culmination of a journey filled with memories, love, and music,” he continues. “To have the chance to perform alongside my father one last time is an indescribable and deeply meaningful experience. I would like to extend my heartfelt gratitude to HARDY, Big Loud, the HIXTAPE crew, and everyone who played a pivotal role in making this project a reality. Your unwavering support and dedication have made this moment truly special. Together, we are not only honoring the past but also creating a powerful narrative about the enduring spirit of music and love.”
With over 30 star-studded guests featured, first-time Aaron Tippin, Blake Shelton, Chris Young, Clint Black, Darius Rucker, Hailey Whitters, Jack Ingram, Kameron Marlowe, Toby Keith, Koe Wetzel, Lauren Watkins, Luke Bryan, Luke Combs, Mark Wills, Nate Smith, Old Dominion, Post Malone, Randall King, Reba McEntire, and Sammy Kershaw; join returning cast Brooks & Dunn, ERNEST, HARDY, Jake Worthington, Jon Pardi, Lainey Wilson, Larry Fleet, Randy Houser, Morgan Wallen, and Tracy Lawrence.
The moving Ships That Don't Come In” finds Diffie's vocals intermingled with features from Luke Combs and late country giant Toby Keith – marking Keith's final recorded vocal before his passing in February.
Morgan WallenHARDY, and Post Malone led collaborations with first offerings, “John Deere Green” released on its 30th anniversary, and 1994 No. 1 “Pickup Man,” debuted via performances at the 57th Annual CMA Awards.
HIXTAPE: Vol. 2 (2021) and Vol. 1 (2019) started the series' critically acclaimed legacy. Billboard called the projects “infectious,” Country Now notes the HIXTAPES as “testaments to the power of collaboration;” American Songwriter praises the series' “blue-collar lyrics and hefty hook-ware,” while the New York Times praised fan favorite “He Went To Jared (HARDY feat. Morgan Wallen)” as “rapscallion-like” in sentiment, “lighthearted and unsentimental.” Taste of Country sums it up: HIXTAPE “couldn't be more country.”
HIXTAPE: Vol. 3: DIFFTAPE Track List
  1. “John Deere Green (Joe Diffie, Morgan Wallen, HARDY)”
  2. “Pickup Man (Joe Diffie, Post Malone)”
  3. “Ships That Don't Come In (Joe Diffie, Toby Keith, Luke Combs)”
  4. “Third Rock From The Sun (Joe Diffie, Blake Shelton, HARDY, Brooks & Dunn)”
  5. “Prop Me Up Beside The Jukebox (If I Die) (Joe Diffie, Tracy Lawrence, Lainey Wilson, The Difftones)”
  6. “Bigger Than The Beatles (Joe Diffie, Jon Pardi, Old Dominion)”
  7. “Honky Tonk Attitude (Joe Diffie, Luke Bryan, Randy Houser)”
  8. “Is It Cold In Here (Joe Diffie, Reba McEntire, Jake Worthington)”
  9. “Texas Size Heartache (Joe Diffie, Clint Black, Larry Fleet)”
  10. “Home (Joe Diffie, Darius Rucker, Hailey Whitters)”
  11. “C-O-U-N-T-R-Y (Joe Diffie, Aaron Tippin, ERNEST)”
  12. “So Help Me Girl (Joe Diffie, Mark Wills, Nate Smith)”
  13. “New Way (To Light Up An Old Flame) (Joe Diffie, Randall King, Sammy Kershaw)”
  14. “If The Devil Danced In Empty Pockets (Joe Diffie, Jack Ingram, Koe Wetzel)”
  15. “A Night To Remember (Joe Diffie, Lauren Watkins, Kameron Marlowe)”
  16. “In Another World (Joe Diffie, Chris Young)”
  17. “Life Had Plans For Me (Joe Diffie, HARDY, Parker Diffie)”
Produced by Joey Moi. 
Both a lifestyle brand and a countrified mixtape, HIXTAPE was pioneered by Big Loud Records' heavy hitter HARDY – "the musical papa to the HIXTAPE series" (American Songwriter). In its third installment, HIXTAPE is back as HIXTAPE: Vol. 3: DIFFTAPE, a celebration of the legacy and beloved catalog of GRAMMY and CMA Award-winning country icon Joe Diffie. Following HIXTAPE: Vol. 1 (2019)which included Diffie on “Redneck Tendencies (HARDY feat. Trace Adkins & Joe Diffie),” and 2021's HIXTAPE: Vol. 2, the project brings together a new cast of characters collaborating on renditions of Diffie's beloved classics. Hitmaking trio Morgan Wallen, HARDY, and Post Malone lead the charge with the first two offerings: “John Deere Green (HIXTAPE, Joe Diffie, Morgan Wallen & HARDY)” released on its 30th anniversary, and the 1994 No. 1 “Pickup Man (HIXTAPE, Joe Diffie & Post Malone).” Produced by Joey Moi, the tributary project is out via Big Loud Records in conjunction with the Diffie estate on March 29, 2024, the fourth anniversary of Joe Diffie's passing.