Friday, April 6, 2018

David Lee Murphy Album 4/7

Produced by Kenny Chesney, Buddy Cannon and David Lee Murphy

Nashville, TN (April 6, 2018) – TODAY, Blue Chair/Reviver Records released award-winning singer/songwriter David Lee Murphy’s highly-anticipated No Zip Code. The new album contains songs that reconnect us with an artist who was a pioneer of the edgy, rocking style that now dominates modern country music.

“I think this record feels like a party mix tape with a variety of sounds,” says Murphy. “I hope people crank it up until the little yellow light starts blinking that tells you your speakers are about to blow.”

Murphy co-wrote all 11 tracks, including the lead hit single, “Everything’s Gonna Be Alright,” a duet with superstar Kenny Chesney that is nearing the Top-10 on the country radio charts.

“I was happy living as a songwriter,” says David Lee. “But, when Kenny called me and said, ‘Man, I’ve been listening to these songs you’ve been sending me, and you need to be making a record. I could produce it with Buddy Cannon, and I think people would love it.’ It was the perfect scenario for me.”

Chesney reflects, “David Lee Murphy has been such a big part of my life. The first song I recorded of his that was a single was a song called ‘Living in Fast Forward.’ Since that moment, David Lee Murphy and his creative spirit have been a constant in my life.”

David Lee tells Rolling Stone Country, "Kenny is a great song person. We took our time picking the songs from the get-go. We were under no pressure. We recorded and overdubbed at our own pace. Having him sitting in there in the producers' chair with Buddy made it really special."

The collection of songs contains such good-time, party-hearty anthems as “Get Go,” “Haywire” and “That’s Alright.” The rocking “Way Gone” is a female-empowerment barn burner. “Winnebago” invites a lover to a rural retreat. The hooky, retro sounding “Voice of Reason” is about a ne’er-do-well running off the rails time and again. The infectious, up-tempo “I Won’t Be Sorry” is about living life to the fullest and going out with a bang. In “Waylon and Willie,” a broken-hearted lover nurses nostalgia for good times that have departed. “As the Crow Flies” promises a loving reunion from a wandering soul. “No Zip Code” is a fantasy about a life lived far from the world’s problems, with the idea that you can live life the way you want to live it.

Murphy, whose songs “Dust on the Bottle and “Party Crowd” continue to be staples at country radio, could have easily filled the album with hits he’s written for Chesney (“’Til It’s Gone,” “Living in Fast Forward,” “Live a Little”), Jason Aldean (“Big Green Tractor,” “The Only Way I Know How”), Thompson Square (the GRAMMY-nominated “Are You Gonna Kiss Me Or Not”), Jake Owen (“Anywhere With You”), or Blake Shelton (“The More I Drink”). David Lee is thankful Chesney had other ideas.

No Zip Code is available NOW at iTunesAmazon, Spotify and GooglePlay.

David Lee Murphy will be featured this weekend on CMT’s Hot 20, airing Saturday/Sunday at
9 a.m. ET/8 a.m. CT.

No Zip Code Track Listing:
1. “Way Gone” (David Lee Murphy & Marv Green)
2. “No Zip Code” (David Lee Murphy, Shane Minor & Jesse Murphy)
3. “Everything’s Gonna Be Alright" (with Kenny Chesney) (David Lee Murphy, Chris Stevens & Jimmy Yeary)
4. “I Won’t Be Sorry” (David Lee Murphy, Paul Jenkins & Jason Sellers)
5. “Haywire” (David Lee Murphy & Jimmy Yeary)
6. “As the Crow Flies” (David Lee Murphy, Dean Dillon, Jamey Johnson & Phil O’Donnell)
7. “Winnebago” (David Lee Murphy)
8. “Get Go” (David Lee Murphy, Brett Beavers & Jim Beavers)
9. “That’s Alright” (David Lee Murphy, Shane Minor & Jesse Murphy)
10. “Voice of Reason” (David Lee Murphy)
11. “Waylon And Willie” (David Lee Murphy & Billy Burnette)