Friday, February 12, 2021

Carrie Underwood Gospel Album




Album Will Feature Duet with Legendary Gospel Artist CeCe Winans on “Great Is Thy Faithfulness”


Produced by Underwood & David Garcia, Follow-Up to “My Gift” Out March 26, with Physical, Vinyl and Digital Pre-Orders Available Now


New Track, “Softly And Tenderly,” Out Now

My Savior Album Cover Photographed by Joseph Llanes

Photos of Carrie Underwood and David Garcia by Jeff Johnson

February 12, 2021 – Seven-time GRAMMY® Award winner Carrie Underwood has released the track list for My Savior, her recently-announced album of gospel hymns.  The new album will be released globally on CD and digital March 26, 2021, and on vinyl April 30.  In anticipation of the Spring release, Underwood has released a new studio recording of “Softly And Tenderly,” which is available now and as an instant grat track when you pre-order the digital album here. Underwood first performed the beloved hymn during a moving In Memoriam tribute during the “51st Annual CMA Awards” telecast, which she hosted with Brad Paisley in 2017. 


My Savior is co-produced and arranged by Underwood and GRAMMY® Award winner David Garcia, with whom she co-produced her critically acclaimed 2018 album Cry Pretty, her seventh album to be certified Platinum or Multi-Platinum by the RIAA. Garcia is a multi-platinum selling, four-time GRAMMY® Award-winning record producer and songwriter.  With his early roots in Christian music, over the past decade he has achieved chart-topping success across multiple genres of music with over 20 #1 songs to his credit.  He has twice been named ASCAP’s Christian Music Songwriter of the Year (2015 and 2019), has written three ASCAP Award winners for Christian Music Song of The Year, as well as won nine Dove Awards.


My Savior consists of covers of traditional gospel hymns Underwood grew up singing.  Highlights of the album include a duet with CeCe Winans, the best-selling and most-awarded female gospel artist of all time, on the classic hymn, “Great Is Thy Faithfulness.”  Singer/songwriter Bear Rinehart, frontman of the rock band, NEEDTOBREATHE, also makes a special appearance, joining Underwood to sing harmony on another traditional hymn, “Nothing But The Blood Of Jesus.” 


Underwood and Garcia assembled a stellar group of elite Nashville musicians for My Savior, including Southern gospel and harmonica legend Buddy Greene, guitarist and 10-time CMA Musician of the Year Mac McAnally, Southern gospel piano virtuoso Gordon Mote, and frequent Underwood collaborator, singer/songwriter/musician Brett James joining Underwood on harmonies, among many others, to create a unique pastiche of musical styles from classic country to folk, bluegrass, and gospel.


“This is an album I have always wanted to record.  When I set out to choose these songs, I wanted to include the beautiful, familiar hymns I grew up singing in church,” says Underwood.  “There are several songs I have performed in the past, like ‘Softly And Tenderly,’ ‘How Great Thou Art’ and ‘Amazing Grace’ that mean so much to me and I knew immediately we needed to record for the album.  This music shaped who I am as a person and is the foundation of my career as a recording artist.  I feel so blessed to get to share these songs with generations of people who love them as I do, as well as others who might be experiencing them for the first time.”


Carrie Underwood

My Savior Track List


  1. Jesus Loves Me (instrumental)
  2. Nothing But The Blood Of Jesus
  3. Blessed Assurance
  4. Just As I Am
  5. Victory In Jesus
  6. Great Is Thy Faithfulness (featuring CeCe Winans)
  7. O How I Love Jesus
  8. How Great Thou Art
  9. Because He Lives
  10. The Old Rugged Cross
  11. I Surrender All
  12. Softly And Tenderly
  13. Amazing Grace


Pre-orders of the My Savior CD, vinyl and limited-edition t-shirt/CD boxset are available here. Pre-orders from physical retailers are available here. Digital pre-orders are available now here. Underwood’s video trailer for My Savior can be seen here.